Skip to main content


Stoker Named PAEMST Finalist

 stacy stoker2

SALT LAKE CITY – The Utah State Board of Education today announced the names of the six 2020 Utah finalists for the Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching.

2020 Utah Elementary Mathematics Finalists

2020 Utah Elementary Science Finalists

The Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST) is the highest honor bestowed by the United States government specifically for K–12 science, technology, engineering, mathematics (STEM), and/or computer science teaching. Finalists serve as models for their colleagues, inspiration to their communities, and leaders in the improvement of STEM education. 

In the next step of the selection process, 2020 PAEMST finalists’ applications will be reviewed by a national selection committee. Then, The White House will announce the results of the national selection process. The timing of the announcement depends largely on The White House schedule, but it is predicted to occur in summer/fall 2021. From these six finalists, two will be chosen to be the 2020 Utah PAEMST awardees. They will receive a certificate signed by the President of the United States, a paid trip for two to Washington, D.C. to attend a series of recognition events, and a $10,000 award from the National Science Foundation.