Policy ECBB - Curriculum: Elective Instruction - Driver Education
Issue Date: December 16, 2020
Updated: February 15, 2023
The District hereby establishes driver education in the District, as set forth in this policy, to help develop the knowledge, attitudes, habits, and skills necessary for the safe operation of motor vehicles. District driver education shall follow the requirements set out in statute and in Driver Education for Utah High Schools Organization, Administration and Standards.
Utah Admin. Rules R277-746-2 (December 9, 2021)
Educators who act as driver education instructors must have and maintain a driver education endorsement from the State Board of Education.
Age for Written Testing
A District school offering driver education shall provide each enrolled student the opportunity to take the written test when the student is 15 years and 9 months of age. The school may permit an enrolled student to take the written test when the student is 15 years of age.
Components of Driver Education
Driver education shall consist of classroom portion of instruction and behind-the-wheel and observation portion of instruction.
The classroom training portion of driver education will consist of instruction in accordance with the rules established by the State Office of Education, which will take place in [in a regular class during school hours] [in class instruction held at the school outside of regular school hours], [through home study] [through community education classes].
[One or more options may be selected. All of these options are permissible under Utah Code § 53G-10-508 (2021).]
The behind-the-wheel and observation portion of driver education will be provided by the District in accordance with the rules established by the State Office of Education.
Driver education in the District shall be solely funded through student fees and funds from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. However, for these purposes, the cost of driver education does not include the full-time equivalent cost of a teacher for each driver education class taught during regular school hours, or the cost of classroom space and maintenance.
The Board of Education will set the student fee required for participation in driver education in the District, which fee shall be determined by taking into consideration the costs associated with providing driver education which are not covered by reimbursements from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account. Student fees shall also take into account costs, which are not covered because of students obtaining a waiver of driver education fees.
The District shall submit the student reporting form required by the State Board of Education for reimbursement of driver education costs from the Automobile Driver Education Tax Account to the State board of Education driver education specialist. This form shall be submitted each year on January 15 and July 15.